The Castle Gogar Connection

Aunt Evelyn Martin in front of the painting of the Castle Gogar that hung proudly in her wall

Castle Gogar was once owned by my Ramsay ancestors (see more here), and ended up in the hands of Maitland family through the marriage of my ancestors Susan Ramsay (of Barnton) and Alexander Gibson-Maitland (see more about the ancestry here). I mention this because Amanda Keane has been in touch and shared some photos of her aunt Evelyn at Castle Cogar, among others connected to the castle and its Maitland occupants what I think is in 50s, 60s and 70s. Her aunt worked for Sir James Steel-Maitland’s dental laboratory and kept in touch with his second wife Lady Brenda after he died in 1960:

Aunt on Evelyn on right with unkown ladies at Castle Gogar. Any idea?

Think it might be Lady Steel-Maitland on the left, who died in 2003 from what I understand.

Sir Arthur ‘James’ Drummond Ramsay-Steel-Maitland, 2nd Baronet (1902–1960) I think at Castle Gogar

Auntie Evelyn with wee dog
Aunt Evelyn with Lady Steel-Maitland
My aunt Evelyn, Lady Steel-Maitland and my Mum Frances
My Mum with Lady Steel Maitland again and my mum’s younger sister (aunt Edith)
Sir James at the dental laboratory he set-up, I’m guessing at Gogar Castle.

Leave a comment