MacNab of Shenaghart or Seann-Ghairt or Sean-Ghart?

seann-ghairtI’ve managed to locate Shenaghart on StreetMap. My great great great granmother was Christina McNab, she was the of daughter of John MacNab of Shenaghart in Kintyre, and of Sherrabeg in Badenoch. I’d seen other spellings, such as Sheughiart and Shenaghairt. I’d also seen a list of Commons of Argyll – name lists on the Clan MacTavish site. The list names the MacTavish clan rebels from 1685 ‘pertaining’ to the Earl of Argyll’s part in the Monmouth Rebellion. The lists breaks down the rebels by parish and place, and in the former Killberrie parish in Kintyre includes Shenaghart along with Tiretigan, Kilberrie, and Achdianellan.

After searching around the area on StreetMap I eventually found Bàgh Seann Ghairt (gaelic for ‘old field bay’). I also found Tiretigan and Kilberrie (Killberry) and I pretty sure that Achdianellan is Bàgh Achadh bà Mhaoilien.

I eventually found a Sean-Ghart on StreetMap a little further inland, but a search on Google Maps hasn’t revealed a dwelling, but the RCAHMS Canmore database has an entry for Sean-Ghart with the following information:

Five unroofed structures and three enclosures are depicted on the 1st edition of the OS 6-inch map (Argyllshire 1873, sheet cxc). Six unroofed structures and three enclosures are shown on the current edition of the ix unroofed structures and three enclosures are shown on the current edition of the OS 1:10000 map (1979).

sean-ghartInterestingly, there’s a Keppoch shown just below Killbery (see below), which is just inland from Keppoch Point. This gives me another reason to add the area to my fantasy ancestry road trip to the highlands, although clearly I need to brush up on my gaelic and I have some more reading to do about my Keppoch ancestors.

keppoch_kintyre

Leave a Reply

