Fantasy Road trip continued: Duart Castle

Duart Castle, home of Hector Mor Maclean, 12th Chief

I’ve added Duart Castle to my GoogleMap for highland ancestry fantasy road trip. I’ve discovered on cousin Hamish’s tree that Hector Mor 12th Maclean, 8th Lord of Duart, is one of my ancestors (see Wikipedia entry). From what I can tell he lived here and made improvements to the castle. My kids are also impressed because the castle in the Disney Pixar movie Brave is based on Duart Castle, so I might even persuade them to come on a trip if we ever head up that way. Perhaps we could also do the Jacobite Steam Railway ride from Fort William to Malliag made famous by the Hogwarts Express.

Leave a Reply

