Clive Davies, Edith Fox and Princess Kaiulani

Seems like there’s a film called Princess Ka’iulani based on a ‘true story’ about a romance and possible engagement between a Hawaiian Princess and Clive Davies (see here). This is the same Clive Davies who married Edith Marion Fox, who was the daughter of Sir Francis Fox (see wiki entry) and therefor the cousin of my great great aunt Agnes Selina Fox.  I found the following biography of Clive here:

DAVIES, THEOPHILUS CLIVE, sugar factor, Honolulu: born September 28, 1871, in Honolulu, Kingdom of Hawaii, son of Theophilus Harris and Mary Ellen (Cocking) Davies; married Edith Marion Fox, in Wimbledon (England), July 12, 1898; five children: Muriel, Gwendolen, Lorna, Harold, Geoffrey. Educated in St. Alban’s College (Honolulu) to 18X6, Uppingham School (England) to 1899 and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, being graduated in 1894 with degree S. B. ; Theo. H. Davies (Elder) settled in Honolulu in 1857, associated with firm of Janion, Green & Co., and later took over the business, now Theo. H. Davies & Co., Ltd. Became associated with father’s firm upon entering business career and is at present a director of that institution. Address: residences, Graidaide (Honolulu) and Hawkley Hurst (Hampshire, Eng- land): business. Kaahumanu Street (Honolulu), 2 George Street, Mansion House (London, England).

I found a wiki entry for Kaʻiulani (aka Victoria Kaʻiulani Kalaninuiahilapalapa Kawēkiu i Lunalilo Cleghorn). Through her mother Kaʻiulani was descended from High Chief Kepoʻokalani. Her father was Archibald Cleghorn, a Scottish financier from Edinburgh and the last Royal Governor of Oʻahu. Clive Davies’ father Theophilus Harris Davies was her guardian. But I only found out about this story by accident because I’d read the following press clipping in Agnes S. Fox’s scrapbook announcing her Uncle’s Funeral:

It doesn’t include a date, but does mention the close family as follows:

Lady Fox (Widow) [Selina Wright]
Mr F.H.W. Fox (Son)
Dr Selina Fox (Daughter)
Mr and Mrs Walter Western (Son-in-law and daughter)
Mrs Clive Davies and Miss Lorna Davies (Daughter and granddaughter)

Agnes Fox (niece)
Mrs F. Douglas Fox (wife of nephew)
Mrs C. Beresford Fox (possibly daughter-in-law)

I’ve actually found a photograph of Edith Marion Fox in Agnes’ scrapbook together with the following quote from Bacon dated Feb 6 1905:

A man that is of judgment and understanding shall sometimes hear ignorant men differ, and know well within himself that those which so differ mean one thing, and yet they themselves would never agree. And if it come so to pass in that distance of judgment which is between man and man, shall we not think that God above, that knows the heart, doth not discern that frail men in some of their contradictions intend the same thing; and accepteth of both?

There’s also a note ‘extracted from a letter’ saying something along the lines of “I watched you from neatboxes depart — your boxes are most typical of oneself fresh + clean + good!.”

There’s a sketch either of or by Edith’s daughter Gwendoline dated Sept 1st 1913 at Kilmartin:I’ve found a few more bits that I’ll add shortly.

3 thoughts on “Clive Davies, Edith Fox and Princess Kaiulani

  1. Hi Justin,

    I am the great-granddaughter of Clive Davies and my grandmother and I have been have been greatly enjoying some of the items in the scrap book. We have a great deal of information on the Fox family and can probably help you clear up quite a lot of things (if it wouldn’t spoil your fun). Let me know where’s best to send it and I’ll email some things over.

    Best wishes,

    Helen Sinclair

    1. Hello Justin,

      I came across this blog, very interesting. I am doing some research about Gwendolen S Davies for a family project. My father was William Robertson, the plantation manager at Hamakua Mill Co from 1932-1959. He knew T. Clive Davies quite well. I’d like to chat with you about the family.

      1. Dylan, don’t know much more than I’ve posted here. I have my great great aunt’s scrapbook, and it seems like she knew the Davies family reasonably well and from what I can see I think they went skiing together. But I don’t anything else about the family than I’ve published on this blog. Justin

Leave a Reply

