New site design but where to go next


I’ve come to a bit of an impasse with all the family history, partly because I have a lot of other things  on my plate, but also because I’m not sure what else to follow-up and that’s based on not really being clear who my audience is now. Originally, I was just trying to find out more about our Kirby ancestors. My father had the photograph of our great great grandfather Alfred Octavius Kirby (1843-1919) above and a medal from Henley, which showed he’d rowed for Cambridge. Their Alumni records showed that Alfred O. and his brother Augutus George went there and that their father was called George Goldsmith Kirby (GGK). We found out that GGK had married Hannah Sarah Watts, and that her parents were called Joseph and Hannah from Stratford, Essex. That’s all we know about them, and although we’ve found out quite a bit about GGK and his offspring the only thing we know about his ancestors is that his father was called George, who according to the Lincolns Inn records was a gent and might have died before GGK was admitted there. So that’s as far back as we can go with Kirbys and Watts. From what we can tell our family are now the surviving branch of Kirbys that are descended from George Goldsmith Kirby, and there doesn’t seem to be anyone else researching this family. So that’s the end of the road on this mystery so far. Who knows maybe someone else will get in touch with another lead, but I won’t hold my breath. If I have time I’ll look again at other dead-ends.

Leave a Reply

