Wedding of George Henry Kirby and Elsie Maitland

Charles Daniel has been in touch. He’s the grandson of Angus Charles Majoribanks Maitland, who is my great great Uncle. He’s very kindly sent a photo of the wedding of my great grandparents George Henry Kirby and Alice Marie (Elsie) Mailand in Ceylon in 1899. I doubt George’s family would have been in Ceylon at the time, but I’m guess that Angus and Elsie’s siblings are in the photo (Alexander McDonell, Keith Andrew Ramsay  and Christina Clair Maitland). I also think their mother Theresa (McDonell of Keppoch) would be in the photo too, possibly dressed in black. I wonder whether Petronilla Maitland’s family are also in the photo. It would be great to know more about who’s who and hopefully Charles can give me some pointers. Anyway, turns out he has other photos and knows some more about the Maitlands in Ceylon, so I look forward to hearing from him soon.

Alice Marie (Elsie) Maitland & George Henry Kirby's Wedding 1899

One thought on “Wedding of George Henry Kirby and Elsie Maitland

Leave a Reply

