‘Children of William Ramsay of Barnton’ by Alexander Nasmyth

Just had an email from the Photography & Licensing department of the National Galleries of Scotland, that it will cost me £70+VAT to see a portrait of my ancestors by (Children of William Ramsay of Barnton) by Alexander Nasmyth.

I’d originally been informed by the former Viscount Maitland (now Earl of Lauderdale) that The Gay Ramsay – Steel – Maitland Trust (now Stafford Trust) had a collection of Maitland family portraits. It turns out that the only portrait they had in their collection was the one mentioned above by Alexander Nasmyth, and this was on permanent loan to the National Galleries of Scotland.

Obviously, I don’t profit from sharing what I uncover here, so £70+VAT is a little steep. Shame, as I was hoping to simply see the picture of my ancestors and share this with other descendants scattered round the globe via this blog, just as I did with the Sir Henry Raeburn portrait of William Ramsay that Lyon & Turnball kindly sent me (see here).

One thought on “‘Children of William Ramsay of Barnton’ by Alexander Nasmyth

Leave a Reply

