Tieing up Baxendale loose ends on The Peerage

I took a look at the Baxendale Index on The Peerage to see how far back along the the ancestor links I could go until I came to a dead-end. I found the following deadends, which I think I’ve tied-up:

Lloyd dead-end
Salisbury
Joseph Francis Noel
Joseph Francis Noel b. 1877
Philip Lionel Salisbury d. 1986
Philip Lionel Salisbury
Lloyd Harry Baxendale
Lloyd Henry Baxendale b. c 1858
Joseph
Guy Vernon

Judging by Scott – Baxendell Genealogy Website Home Page Lloyd and Salisbury are brothers. I’m pretty certain that they are sons of Joseph Baxendale and the brothers of Richard Birley Baxendale

I also think Colonel Joseph Francis Noel Baxendale is the same person The Peerage has listed as Joseph Francis Noel Baxedale.

The Peerage lists Colonel Joseph Francis Noel Baxendale as being the father of Margaret Ruth Baxendale.

It also has Joseph Francis Noel Baxedale as being the son of of Joseph William Baxendale and Frances Margaret Julia Scott.

I’ve found the following on Paul Theroff’s a Frances Margaret Julia Scott, married to a Joseph William Baxendale, of Hursley Park (ref: 2.2.10.8.1.1.1.3.1.1.). It also showed they had a daughter called Margaret Ruth Baxendale (ref: 2.2.10.8.1.1.1.3.1.1.1.2.).

I also think that Philip Lionel Salisbury d. 1986 and Philip Lionel Salisbury are the same person. They are both listed on The Peerage as being Lt.-Cdr., having an OBE and living in Alderney.

However, I ‘m not sure if Charlotte Rosemary Baxendale is the daughter of the marriage of Philip Lionel Salisbury Baxendale to Patricia Elizabeth Stuart.

I also can’t help thinking that Lloyd Harry Baxendale is the same person as Lloyd Henry Baxendale b. c 1858 are the same person. I found a reference that say when Lloyd [my great great great grandfather] died in 1882, “his son, Lloyd Henry (Harry) Baxendale succeeded him as lord of the manor of Greenham” (see here). I can’t be sure as I can’t find a reference to Lloyd Henry adopting Christina Baxendale.

As mentioned above, I think that Joseph Baxendale is the father of Lloyd, Salisbury and Richard Birley Baxendale.

According to the Scott – Baxendell Genealogy Website Home Page site, Joseph married Mary Birley on 25 Feb 1816. This also shows that they had another son called Joseph Hornby Baxendalewho is listed on The Royal & Noble Families of Britain site as being the father of Joseph William d. 23 Jun 1915 on The Peerage site.

Sadly, can’t work out who Guy Vernon Baxendale is related to, but he lived at Franfield Place, Sussex, England … so I might be able to track him down.

Think that about wraps up the Baxendales though and have sent off an email to Darryl at The Peerage.

4 thoughts on “Tieing up Baxendale loose ends on The Peerage

  1. Hello, I was most interested to find your blog. I am a granddaughter of Christina Baxendale (nee Woolner) and as far as I can tell there is some question over whether she was ever officially adopted. Turns out it’s quite difficult to trace her birth mother as well…

  2. I can confirm that Charlotte Rosemary BAXENDALE is indeed the daughter of Philip Lionel Salisbury BAXENDALE and his first wife, Mary Joyce Clare POLES Baxendale (as opposed to his second wife, Patricia Elizabeth STUART Daniel Baxendale). They are all listed traveling together from London to Aden (where Philip was the Port Officer (Aden) in 1956. Charlotte was said to be 16 years of age at the tim.

Leave a Reply

