George and Mary Kirby?

I think I’ve already mentioned that I found a George Kirby on FamilySearch.com christened on 18th May 1806, at Saint Andrew, Holborn, London. His parents were George and Mary Kirby. George H. Graham had already shown how the 1851 Census has George Goldsmith Kirby (GGK) as being born about 1806 at Holborn, Middlesex. Well, I’ve finally commissioned a genealogy researcher to see if he can help find the following:

    a) The marriage of George Goldsmith Kirby and Harriet Sarah;
    b) The baptism of George Goldsmith Kirby in Holborn
    c) The baptism of Harriet Sarah ? in Stratford

I had been in touch with the Local Studies Assistant at the City of Westminster Archives Centre. She explained that it was actually the London Metropolitan Archives I need to contact as they have the Holborn parish registers and records I’m looking for. She also recommended I approach the Association of Genealogists and Researchers in Archives (AGRA), as they could help put me in touch with a researcher. I actually found someone directly, and although the recommendation played a part in going down this route it was really about the time involved working out which archive kept what records on what and when that convinced me of the merits in getting a helping hand. Anyway, it’ll be interesting to see if the researcher can help get me one step further to working out GGK’s ancestry. Funnily enough I went past St Andrews in Holborn today, so and am hoping their records will turn up something useful.

St Andrews Holborn 8/8/08
St Andrews Holborn 8/8/08
Leave a Reply

